Diary

Lectures can be delivered remotely by Webinar (Zoom) if required.

Please email or ring for details or look on You Tube for my Zoom Advice [https://youtu.be/TBeP-lpRzgU] which I hope will help if you are not sure about setting up a remote lecture and how it works.

Monday 15 March [2.15 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Jan van Eyck

for The Arts Society, Wimborne & Blandford

Tuesday 16 March [10.15 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The first Priz’: the glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for U3A Grange & District

Monday 22 March [2 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Norman Sicily

for U3A Hitchin

Thursday 25 March [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Fra Filippo Lippi

for The Arts Society, Faversham

Saturday 27 – Sunday 28 March

Medieval Canterbury Weekend

Thursday 8 April [2.15 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for The Arts Society, Torbay

Thursday 8 April [7.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for Ash Heritage Group

Tuesday 13 April [7.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Ravenna seen through her Mosaics

for the Aberdeen Italian Circle

Wednesday 14 April [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Vikings Are Coming!

for The Arts Society, Cobham & Oxshott

Monday 19 April [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Luttrell Psalter

for U3A Hawkhurst

Thursday 22 April [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Here be Dragons: medieval monsters

for The Arts Society, Stirling & Forth Valley

Tuesday 4 May [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Vikings

for the CEQ Volunteers

Thursday 6 May [7.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for Orpington & Chislehurst NT Centre

Saturday 8 May [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Norman Sicily

for The Mackrell Society

Monday 17 May [7.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on ‘Here be Dragons … ‘: Medieval Monsters

for Cranbrook Local History Society

Tuesday 18 May [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Heathfield U3A

Wednesday 19 May [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Goudhurst & District U3A

Thursday 20 May [7.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Lindisfarne Gospels

for Charing & District History Society

Tuesday 25 May [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Book of Kells

for The Arts Society, Turners Hill

Thursday 27 May

Folkestone: Contemporary Art, Historical Town

A walking tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Thursday 3 June [10.30 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Mason

for U3A Beckenham History Group

Tuesday 8 June [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, East Grinstead

Wednesday 9 June [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Signs of the Times: How to read medieval art

for The Arts Society, Uckfield & Lewes

Thursday 10 June [1.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons

for The Arts Society, Tarporley

Monday 14 – Thursday 17 June

Research and Recce

Monday 28 June – Friday 2 July

Suffolk Seraphims: Suffolk Churches

a Study Tour for for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 6 July [1030 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Gade Valley

Tuesday 13 – Friday 16 July

An Appointment with Angels: a study tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

 

Monday 19 – Friday 23 July

Suffolk Seraphims: a study tour of Suffolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

 

Wednesday 11 August [10 am]

Manuscripts Study Morning

for The Friends of St Albans

Monday 16 – Friday 20 August 2021

Northumbria in the First Millennium

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 31 August – Friday 3 September 2021

The Age of Bede

A study tour for Martin Randall Travel
The tour will be based in Durham

Monday 6 September [7 pm]

The Cathars

for The Arts Society, Sandwich

Friday 8 October [11 am]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for Ashford Probus
Sandyacres Sports Pavilion, Sandyhurst Lane, Ashford TN25 4PE

Friday 8 October [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Wrotham History Society
The Village Hall, Wrotham TN15 7AH

Saturday 9 October [am]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for the Saunières Society
Newington Village Hall, Newington CT18 8AU

Tuesday 12 – Friday 15 October 2021 [provisional dates]

An Appointment with Angels: a study tour of Norfolk churches [2]

for ACE Cultural Tours
The tour will be based in Norwich

Monday 18 October [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: travel and pilgrimage in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Canterbury (Evening)
The Old Sessions House, Longport, Canterbury CT1 1QU

Tuesday 19 October [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Great Ouse
Sharnbrook Hotel, Park Lane, Sharnbrook, Beds MK44 1LX

Thursday 21 October [11 am]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Northleach
Westwoods Centre, Northleach GL54 3QJ

Tuesday 26 October [7 pm]

The Men behind the Pen: the life of the scribe in the Middle Ages

for Spithead Antiques & Fine Arts Society
Bay House School, Gomer Lane, Gosport P12 2QP

Wednesday 27 October [1.30 pm]

Albrecht Dürer

for The Arts Society, Windsor

Thursday 28 October [11 am]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Oakham
Victoria Hall, Oakham LE15 6AH

Tuesday 2 November [7.30 pm]

The First Prize: the glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for Lyminge History Society
Tayne Centre, Lyminge Methodist Church CT18 8JA

Friday 5 November [7.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Elham Historical Society
The Village Hall, Canterbury Road CT4 6SX

Monday 8 November [8 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Bexley Historical Society
St John Fisher RC Church Hall, Thanet Road, Bexley DA5 1AP

Wednesday 10 November [2.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for the 2nd Wednesday Club, Winchelsea
New Hall, Roberts Hill, Winchelsea TN36 4EY

Thursday 11 November [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Rye Castle Museum
3 East Street, Rye TN31 7JY

Wednesday 17 November [2 pm]

The Siren Sea; Medieval Mariners

for the Enfield Association of the National Trust
Holtwhites Sports & Social Club, 1 Kirkland Drive, Enfield EN2 0RN

Wednesday 17 November

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Evesham & Pershore
Evesham Arts Centre, Victoria Avenue, Evesham, Worcs WR11 4QH

Thursday 18 November [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Battle & District History Society
The Memorial Hall, 81 High Street, Battle TN33 0AG

Wednesday 24 November [2 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Sevenoaks U3A
The Community Centre, Cramptons Road, off Otford Road, Sevenoaks TN14 5DN

Thursday 25 November [2.30 pm]

The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for The Arts Society, Tonbridge
Medway Hall, Angel Centre, Tonbridge TN9 1SF

Friday 3 December [time TBC]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for St Andrew’s, Deal

Saturday 4 December [10 am]

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette and table manners

for North West Kent Family History Society
Dartford Science & Technology College, Heath Lane, Dartford DA1 2LY

Tuesday 7 December [11 am]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Mendip
Strode Theatre, Church Street, Street, Somerset BA16 0AB

Wednesday 8 December [8 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for Beckenham & Bromley NT Centre
The Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Friday 10 December [8 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for Wrotham History Society
The Village Hall, Wrotham TN15 7AH

Saturday 11 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for Crayford Manor History Society
The Baker Trust Hall, Maxim Road, Crayford Manor DA1 4BG

Tuesday 14 December [2.15 pm]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Wealden
Community Hall, Sheepsetting Lane, Heathfield TN21 0XG

Wednesday 15 December [7 pm]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for HRG Sittingbourne