Diary

2018

Monday 16 – Saturday 21 July

A White Garment of Churches – a study tour of French cathedrals looking at the lives of the medieval Master Mason and his workers

for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 24 – Friday 27 July [2]

An Appointment with Angels – a study tour of Norfolk churches

for ACE Cultural Tours

Monday 30 July – Friday 3 August

Northumbria in the First Millennium – a study tour considering the north-east in the second half of the first millennium

for ACE Cultural Tours

Sunday 12 – Wednesday 22 August

The Baltic [1]

Lecturing on board MS Serenissima for Noble Caledonia Cruises
Helsinki, Kotka, St Petersburg, Tallinn, Saaremaa, Parnu, Riga, Liepaja, Visby, Stockholm

Wednesday 22 August – Thursday 6 September

The Baltic [2]

Lecturing on board MS Serenissima for Noble Caledonia Cruises
Stockholm, Helsinki, St Petersburg, Tallinn, Saaremaa, Riga, Klaipeda, Gdansk, Swinoujscie, Lubeck, Holtenau, Kiel Canal, Ostende, Dover

Tuesday 18 September [2 pm]

Antonello da Messina: the Great Sicilian Renaissance Artist

for The Arts Society, Southwold
St Edmund’s Hall, Cumberland Road, Southwold IP18 6JP

Wednesday 19 September [7.30 pm]

The Green Man in Medieval Churches

for Maidstone Historical Society
Methodist Church Community Centre, Brewer Street, Maidstone ME14 1RU

Thursday 20 September [2.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Thanet
St Peter’s Church Hall, Broadstairs CT10 2TR

Thursday 20 September [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for Smarden History Society
Charter Hall, Chessenden Lane, Smarden TN27 8NF

Tuesday 2 – Thursday 11 October

Lecturing on board MS Serenissima for Noble Caledonia Cruises
Naples, Messina, Palermo, Trapani, Cagliari, Olbia, Bastia, Elba, Livorno

Monday 15 October [2.15 pm]

The Vikings are Coming!

for U3A Orpington
Crofton Halls, Crofton Road, Orpington BR6 8PR

Wednesday 17 October [10.30 am]

The Green Man in English Churches

For The Arts Society, Runnymede
The Hythe Centre, Thorpe Road, Egham, Surrey TW18 3HD

Thursday 18 October [10.55 am]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: Black Death and its Aftermath

for The Arts Society, Rutland
Rockingham Forest Hotel, Corby NN17 2AE

Thursday 18 October [7.30 pm]

The Topsy-Turvy World of Misericords

for The Arts Society, Ely
Bishop’s Palace, Palace Green, Ely CB7 1EG

Monday 22 October [2.30 pm & 7.30 pm}

The Bayeux Tapestry

for the Ashridge Circle
Devonshire Park Theatre, 8-10 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4BW

Tuesday 23 October

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: Black Death and its Aftermath

for Surrey Art Fund
Menuhin Hall, Yehudi Menuhin School, Cobham Road, Stoke d’Abernon KT11 3QQ

Tuesday 30 October [7.30 pm]

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette and manners

for the Ashford branch of KFHS
Willesborough Windmill, Ashford TN24 0QG

Thursday 1 November [2 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ : The Searchlight Girls

for Brighton & Hove National Trust
Ajax Centre, Palmeira Avenue, Hove BN3 3GE

Friday 2 November [2.30 pm]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for U3A Weald
Zion Baptist’s Church, High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BB

Tuesday 6 November [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for Swanley History Group
White Oak Indoor Bowls Centre, Garrolds Close, off Hilda May Avenue, Swanley BR8 7BF

Thursday 8 November

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Jersey Art Fund

Monday 12 November [8 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Bexley Historical Society
St John Fisher RC Church Hall, Thanet Road, Bexley DA5 1AP

Tuesday 13 November [7.30 pm]

Subject tbc

for the Royal Phoenix Metal Detectors
The Cricketers, Crabble Avenue, Dover CT17 0JB

Thursday 15 November [10 am]

The Vikings, a Day of Special Interest

for The Arts Society, Cambridge
Churchill College

Saturday 17 November [9.30 am]

Cross-Channel Art, jointly with Tom Evans

a Study Morning for Tenterden U3A
The Sinden Theatre, Homewood School, Tenterden

Tuesday 20 November

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas traditions [1 pm onwards]

for the Tunbridge Wells Wives Fellowship
Rotherfield Village Hall, North Street TN6 3LX

Wednesday 21 November [2.30 pm]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the Women of the First Millennium

for U3A Wadhurst
The Commemoration Hall, Wadhurst, East Sussex TN5 6AP

Wednesday 21 November [8 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ : The 93rd (Searchlight) Regiment, Royal Artillery

for Otford & District History Society
The Memorial Hall, High Street, Otford

Tuesday 27 November [10 am]

The Plague Years

A Study Day for AS, Bodmin
Venue tbc

Friday 30 November [7.30 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ : The 93rd (Searchlight) Regiment, Royal Artillery

for Kemsing Heritage Centre
St Edith Hall, High Street, Kemsing TN15 6NA

Monday 3 December [2.30 pm]

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval manners and etiquette

for the Friends of Canterbury Cathedral
The Kentish Barn (above the Cagett Hall), Cathedral Precincts

Tuesday 4 December [7.15 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a History of Christmas Traditions

for Whitstable History Society
URC Hall, Middle Wall, Whitstable CT5 1BW

Monday 10 December [2.15 pm]

The Signs of the Times

for The Arts Society, Wimborne & Blandford (NADFAS)
The Allendale Centre, Hanham Road, Wimborne BH21 1AS

Tuesday 11 December [2 pm]

Glad Tidings! The story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Malmesbury (NADFAS)
The Village Hall, 2 Tetbury Lane, Crudwell SN16 9HB

Wednesday 12 December [8 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a History of Christmas Traditions

for Westerham Fine Arts Society
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue, London Road TN16 1BG

Thursday 13 December [11 am]

‘Here be Dragons …’ Medieval Monsters

for Borden History Society
The Forge, Borden ME9 8JN

Thursday 13 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a History of Christmas Traditions

as part of Charing History Society’s Social Evening
The Village Hall, Station Road, Charing TN27 0JA

Friday 14 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a History of Christmas Traditions

for Canterbury KFHS
The United Reformed Church, Watling Street, Canterbury CT1 2UA

Tuesday 18 December [7.30 pm]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the Women of the First Millennium

for Ulcombe History Society
The Village Hall, Headcorn Road, Ulcombe ME17 1HD

Thursday 20 December [1.45 pm]

Glad Tidings! The story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Knole
The Community Centre, Otford Road, Sevenoaks TN13  1NP

2019

Tuesday 8 January [10.30 am]

The Vikings are Coming!

for the Arts Society, Borders
Tait Hall, Edenside Road, Kelso, Roxburghshire TD5 7BS

Thursday 10 January [2 pm]

The Siren Sea: the life of medieval mariners

for Tenterden & District National Trust Association
St Mildred’s Church Hall, Church Road, Tenterden TN20 6AT

Monday 14 January [2.30 pm]

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette

for the Arts Society, Henfield
Henfield Hall, Coopers Way, BN5 9DB

Wednesday 16 January [7.45 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Wateringbury History Society
The Village Hall, Tonbridge Road, Wateringbury ME18 5DD

Thursday 17 January [10.30 am]

‘Put that light out!’ The searchlight girls in WW2

for U3A Beckenham
The Methodist Church, Bromley Road, Beckenham BR3 5JE

Thursday 17 January [8 pm]

Master Masons: how they built our cathedrals

for Leigh & District Historical Society
Small Village Hall, High Street, Leigh TN11 8RL

Friday 18 – Wednesday 30 January

Away on a research and recce trip

Wednesday 30 January [1.15 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Wye & District Luncheon Club
Sandyacre Sports Club, Sandyhurst Lane, Ashford TN25 4NT

Thursday 31 January [7.30 pm]

The First Prize: the Glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for The Ash Society
The Village Hall, Queen’s Road, Ash CT3 2BG

Tuesday 5 February [7.15 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Lamorbey & Sidcup History Society
Community Hall, St Lawrence Church, Hamilton Road, Sidcup DA15 7HB

Thursday 7 Feb [1 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Sidcup Ladies Luncheon Club

Thursday 7 February [7.30 pm]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: Black Death and its aftermath

for Margate Civic Society
Walpole Bay Hotel, Fifth Avenue, Margate CT9 3JJ

Saturday 9 February [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the Master Masons

for Crayford Manor House Historical Society
Baker Trust Hall, Maxim Road, Crayford DA1 4BG

Tuesday 12 February [8 pm]

Whose God is it anyway? Islamic Art and Architecture

for East Peckham History Society
Salvation Army Hall, 50 The Freehold, East Peckham TN12 5AQ

Wednesday 13 February [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for U3A Windsor
Gardener’s Hall, 213 Leonards Road, Windsor SL4 3DR

Wednesday 13 February [7.30 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Loose History Society
The Pavilion, King George V Playing Field, Walnut Tree Lane, Loose, Maidstone ME15 9RQ

Thursday 14 February [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the Men who built the Cathedrals

for Rye Castle Museum
East Street, Rye TN31 7JY

Monday 18 February [2 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ The searchlight girls of WW2

for U3A Maidstone
Salvation Army Hall, Union Street, Maidstone ME14 1ED

Thursday 21 February [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Wingham History Society
The Village Hall, School Lane, Wingham CT3 1BD

Friday 22 February [7.30 pm]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: Black Death and its aftermath

for Bearsted & District History Society

Monday 25 February [2 pm]

Subject tbc

for U3A Knole
Sevenoaks Community Centre (Bat & Ball), Otford Road, Sevenoaks TN14 5DN

Tuesday 26 February [8 pm]

Illuminated Manuscripts

for Hadlow History Society
St Mary’s Upper Room, Hadlow

Saturday 2 March [10 am]

The Siren Sea

for North West Kent Family History Society
Dartford Science & Technology College, Heath Lane, Dartford DA1 2LY

Thursday 7 March [10.45 am]

Windows into Heaven: Icons

for The Arts Society, Rudgwick
The Village Hall, Bucks Green, Rudgwick, West Sussex RH12 3JJ

Thursday 7 March [8 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for Edenbridge History Society
Edenbridge WI Hall, Station Road, Edenbridge

Tuesday 12 March [2.15 pm]

The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for The Arts Society, Wealden
The Community Hall, Sheepsetting Lane, Heathfield, East Sussex TN21 0XG

Friday 15 March [10 am]

A Study Day

for U3A Surrey
Menuhin Hall, Cobham Road, Stoke d’Abernon KT11 3QQ

Saturday 16 March [10 am]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

North West Kent Family History Society annual meeting
Venue TBC

Monday 18 March [11 am]

The Significance of the Sutton Hoo Ship Burial

for The Arts Society, Tunbridge Wells
Trinity Arts Centre, Church Road, Tunbridge Wells TN1 1JP

Monday 18 March [7.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Canterbury (evening group)
Old Sessions House, Longport, Canterbury CT4 5PX

Tuesday 26 March [2 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for Bexley Ladies Club
URC Hall, 500 Hurst Road, Bexley DA5 3JN

Friday 29 March [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Kemsing Heritage Group
St Edith’s Hall, High Street, Kemsing TN15 6NA

Monday 1 – Saturday 6 April

A White Garment of Churches

A Study Tour of French Cathedrals for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 9 April [7.30 pm]

The Cathars

for Hythe Civic Society
Hythe Bay C of E Primary School, Cinque Ports Avenue, Hythe

Thursday 11 April [2.15 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for AS, Torbay
St Matthew’s Church, Peter Larkin Hall, Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HW

Friday 12 – Sunday 14 April

Kent History Weekend

at Christ Church Canterbury University

Wednesday 17 April [10.30 am]

The Lindisfarne Gospels

Glasgow Antiques and Fine Arts Society
Strathclyde Suite, Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Tuesday 23 – Tuesday 30 April

100 Year’s War

A Study Tour for The Cultural Experience, jointly with Gordon Corrigan
He does the slaughter and I do the culture

Tuesday 7 – Friday 10 May

An Appointment with Angels 1

A Study Tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

Saturday 11 – Saturday 18 May

Douro River Cruise 1

for Noble Caledonia

Tuesday 21 May [11.30 am]

The Siren Sea

for the Arts Society, Isle of Man
Manx Museum Theatre, Douglas

Thursday 23 May [7.30 pm]

The Siren Sea

for the Arts Society, Moor Park
Moor Park Mansion, Rickmansworth

Wednesday 29 May [7.45 pm]

The Master Masons

for the Arts Society, East Sussex
The Boundary Rooms, Sussex County Cricket Ground, Hove BN3 3AN

Tuesday 4 June [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, West Sussex
Fittlewell Village Hall, School Lane, Fittleworth RH20 1JB

Saturday 8 – Saturday 15 June

Douro River Cruise 2

for Noble Caledonia

Tuesday 2 – Friday 5 July

An Appointment with Angels 2

A Study Tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

Wednesday 10 July [8 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Beckenham & Bromley NT
Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Friday 12 July, evening

Subject tbc

A fund-raiser for the Chapel of St Thomas Beck, Capel
Church Lane, Five Oak Green, Tonbridge TN12 6SX

Please come along to support this delightful church

Thursday 18 – Tuesday 30 July

The Baltic

for Noble Caledonia on MV Serenissima
Copenhagen, Christianso, Bornholm, Gdansk, Klaipeda, Riga, Parnu, Saaremaa, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Helsinki, Stockholm

Tuesday 30 July – Friday 9 August

The Baltic 2

for Noble Caledonia on MV Serenissima

Monday 12 – Friday  23 August

Recce and Research

Tuesday 27 – Saturday 31 August

First-millennium Northumbria 1

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Travel

Monday 2 – Friday 6 September

First-millennium Northumbria 2

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Travel

Tuesday 10 September [2.30 & 7 pm]

Fra Filippo Lippi

for AS, Edinburgh
Freemasons Hall, 96 George Street, EH2 3DH

Saturday 14 – Tuesday 17 September

The Age of Bede

A Study Tour for Martin Randall Travel

Monday 23 – Thursday 26 September

A Study Tour of Dorset Churches

for Martin Randall Travel

Tuesday 1 – Monday 14 October

A Journey from the Garden of England to the Garden Island

Lecturing on board MV Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Dover, St Peter Port, Douarnenez, Lorient, Gijon, La Coruna, Vigo, Leixoes, Figueira da For (for Coimbra), Lisbon, Porto Santo, Funchal

Wednesday 6 November [11 am]

Stone on Stone: the Men who built the Cathedrals

for Wadhurst Probus
Ticehurst Village Hall, Lower High Street TN5 7BB

Thursday 7 November [10.30 am]

Subject tbc

for U3A Beckenham
Wesley Room, Beckenham Methodist Church, Bromley Road BR3 5JE

Monday 11 November [11 am & 2 pm]

The Siren Sea

for AS, Tayside
Birnham Arts Centre, Station Road, Birnham, Dunkeld PH8 0DS

Thursday 14 November [2 pm]

The Goose is getting fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for U3A Westerham
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue, London Road, Westerham TN16 1BG

Monday 18 November [2.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Betchworth
The Memorial Hall, Station Road, Betchworth, Surrey RH3 7DF

Thursday 21 November [2.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas Traditions

for U3A Tunbridge Wells

Thursday 21 November [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for the History Research Group Sittingbourne
The Avenue Theatre, Central Avenue, Sittingbourne ME10 4DN

Wednesday 27 November [10.30 am]

The Signs of the Times: a Day of Special Interest

for the Arts Society, West Essex
Theydon Bois Village Hall, Coppice Row CM16 7EB

Tuesday 3 December [7.15 pm]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for AS, Derby
Landau Forte College, 1 Fox Street, Derby DE1 2LF