Diary

2020

Lectures can be delivered remotely by Webinar (Zoom) if required.

Please email or ring for details or look on You Tube for my Zoom Advice [https://youtu.be/TBeP-lpRzgU] which I hope will help if you are not sure about setting up a remote lecture and how it works.

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for the 2nd Wednesday Club of Winchelsea

Tuesday 19 May [3 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Bayeux Tapestry

for the CEQ Volunteers

19-22 May 2020 CANCELLED

An Appointment with Angels; a Study Tour of Norfolk Churches

for ACE Cultural Tours

A second tour will be run from 22-25 September

Friday 22 May [7.30 pm] CANCELLED

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for Great Yarmouth History and Archaeological Society
Christchurch, Deneside, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HL

29-31 May POSTPONED UNTIL 21-23 MAY 2021

Grotesques, Gargoyles and Green Men, a Study Weekend

for The Villiers Park Trust

Tuesday 2 June 2020 [10.45 am] POSTPONED UNTIL 5 APRIL 2022

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, West Suffolk
Blackbourne Community Centre, Elmswell IP30 9UH

Friday 5 June [7.30 pm] CANCELLED

‘Put that light out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for Elham History Society
The Village Hall, Canterbury Road, Elham CT4 6SX

Thursday 11 June  [2 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons

for U3A Westerham

Thursday 11 June  [2 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Antonello da Messina

for The Arts Society, Sevenoaks

Monday 15 June  [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for The Arts Society, Betchworth

Tuesday 16 June  [2 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons

for U3A Invicta

Tuesday 30 June [3 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Dregs of the People Remain: Black Death and its Aftermath

for the CEQ Volunteers

Thursday 2 July [10 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture: Fra Filippo Lippi

for U3A Hawkhurst

Thursday 2 July [2.30 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture: ‘Put that light out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for U3A Tunbridge Wells

Monday 6 July [7 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Thomas Becket

for Tenterden National Trust Association

Tuesday 7 July [10.45 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on the Green Man

for The Arts Society, Mendip

Thursday 9 July [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Painswick

Friday 10 July [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for Ashford Probus

Thursday 16 July  [2 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Thomas Becket

for U3A Tenterden

Thursday 23 July [2 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on ‘Here be dragons …’ Medieval Monsters

for The Arts Society, Reigate

Saturday 1 August CANCELLED

Medieval Manuscripts

A Study Day for St Alban’s Cathedral

Tuesday 4 August [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Dregs of the People Remain: Black Death and its Aftermath

for The Arts Society, Kington Langley

Wednesday 5 August [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Medieval Brittany

for Wadhurst Probus

7-15 August 2020 ? Awaiting information

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Stockholm, Visby, Saaremaa, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Kotka, Mariehamn, Stockholm

15 – 31 August 2020 ? Awaiting information

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Stockholm, Helsinki, St Petersburg, Tallinn, Saaremaa, Riga, Klaipeda, Gdansk, Sassnitz, Lubeck, Holtenau, Kiel Canal, Scheveningen, Dover

Thursday 3 September [10.30 am]

Subject TBC

for U3A Beckenham
The Methodist Church (Wesley Room), Bromley Road, Beckenham BR3 5JE

7-11 September 2020 Planned to go ahead. Please contact ACE Tours for further information

Northumbria in the First Millennium

A study tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 15 September

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Ashford
The Village Hall, Aldington, Ashford TN25 7DT

Wednesday 16 September [2.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey

for Wadhurst U3A
The Commemoration Hall, Wadhurst, East Sussex TN5 6AP

Thursday 17 September [2 pm]

The Politeness of Princes: medieval etiquette and table manners

for MEPARA
The Village Hall, Wrotham Road, Meopham DA13 0AT

Thursday 17 September [8 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for Wingham History Society
The Village Hall, School Lane, Wingham CT3 1BD

Friday 18 September

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Rolveden History Society
Rolveden Church

Tuesday 22 – Friday 25 September Planned to go ahead. Please contact ACE Tours for further information

An Appointment with Angels; a Study Tour of Norfolk Churches

for ACE Cultural Tours

Wednesday 30 September [7.30 pm] CANCELLED

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for The League of Friends
The Village Hall, High Street, Bridge CT4 5JZ

Tuesday 6 October [1.45 pm]

‘Here be Dragons …’ Medieval Monsters

for The Arts Society, Hambledon
Solberge Hall Hotel, Northallerton DL7 9ER

Saturday 10 October [9.30 am]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for the Sauniere Society
Newington Village Hall, Folkestone CT18 8AU

Tuesday 13 October [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on a subject TBC

for The Arts Society, Stamford

Thursday 15 October  [10.30 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Dregs of the People Remain: Black Death and its Aftermath

for The Arts Society, Beaconsfield

More fun than it sounds!

Thursday 15 October [7.30 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Ely
The Bishop’s Palace, Palace Green, Ely CB7 4EW

Monday 19 October [7.30 pm]

The Signs of the Times

for Wye Arts Society

Tuesday 20 October [10.45 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Solent

Tuesday 20 October [2.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Heathfield U3A
The Community Centre, Sheepsetting Lane, Heathfield TN21 0XG

Tuesday 20 October [10.45 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Oxted History Society
If in person, at the URC, Bluehouse Lane, Oxted RH8 0AA

Thursday 22 October [2.30 pm] POSTPONED UNTIL 28 APRIL 2022

The Topsy-Turvy World of Misericords

for The Arts Society, Blackheath
St Mary’s Church Hall, Creswell Park, Blackheath SE3 9RD

Wednesday 28 October [7.30 pm]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for Rainham History Society
The Millennium Centre, Gatekeeper Chase, Rainham ME8 9BH

Monday 2 November [7.30 pm] CANCELLED

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Helmsley
The Old Meeting House, Helmsley YO62 6DW

Tuesday 3 November [7.30 pm]

The First Prize: the glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for Lyminge History Society
Tayne Centre, Lyminge Methodist Church CT18 8JA

Wednesday 4 November [10.30 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on The 1st Prize: The Glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for The Arts Society, Epsom

Wednesday 4 November [7.45 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for Elham NFU Ladies
St Mary’s Church Hall, Elham CT4 6TQ

Thursday 5 November [6.45 pm]

Black Death and its Aftermath

for The Arts Society, Dorset County
The Corn Exchange, High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1AF

Monday 9 November [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for Birchington WI
Kearns Hall, Grenham Bay Avenue, Birchington CT7 9NN

Tuesday 10 November [2 pm]

Bede and the World in which he lived

for St Andrew’s Church
St Andrew’s, West Street, Deal CT14 6DY (the hall is behind the church)

Wednesday 11 November [2 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas Traditions

for Aperfield WI
Aperfield WI Hall, Lebanon Gardens, Biggin Hill TM16 3HA

Thursday 12 November [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Sandwich History Society
The Grand Jury Room in the Guildhall, Sandwich

Saturday 14 November [10 am]

A Study Morning for Joint U3As Tenterden Area with Dr Sheila Sweetinburgh

Sinden Theatre, Homewood School, Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6LT

Monday 16 November [1.30 pm]

Medieval Mariners

for The Arts Society, Harrogate
The Cairn Hotel, Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD

Tuesday 17 November

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette and table manners

for The Arts Society, Medway
Masonic Centre, Franklin Road, Gillingham ME7 4DG

Wednesday 18 November [8.00 pm]

Thomas Becket

for Otford & District Historical Society
The Memorial Hall, High Street, Otford TN14 5PQ

Thursday 19 November [2 pm]

Subject TBC

for U3A Mayfield
The Memorial Hall, Tunbridge Wells Road, Mayfield TN20 6PJ

Thursday 19 November [7.30 pm]

The Master Masons

for The Ash Society
The Village Hall, Queen’s Road, Ash CT3 2BG

Tuesday 24 November [2 pm] CANCELLED

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for Bexley Ladies
URC Hall, 500 Hurst Road, Bexley DA5 3JN

Monday 30 November [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for The Granary Club
Rainham Oast Community Centre, Granary Close, Rainham ME8 7SG

Wednesday 2 December [7 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for HRGS
Central Avenue Theatre, Sittingbourne ME10 4DN

Friday 4 December [10 am]

The Master Masons

for Swanley U3A
The Alexandra Suite, St Mary’s Road, Swanley BR8 7BU

Saturday 5 December [10 am]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for North West Kent Family History Society
The Science & Technology College, Heath Lane, Dartford DA1 2LY

Tuesday 8 December [11 am]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on Glad Tidings! The Story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Brecknock

Thursday 10 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for Margate Civic Society
Walpole Bay Hotel, Fifth Avenue, Cliftonville CT9 2JJ

Saturday 12 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for Crayford Manor Historical Society
Crayford Baker Trust Hall, Maxim Road, Crayford Manor DA1 4BG

Tuesday 15 December [11.30 am]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for The Arts Society, Mid Kent

Wednesday 16 December [10.30 am]

Glad Tidings! The Story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Hungerford
Herongate Leisure Centre, Charnham Park, Hungerford RG17 0YU

Thursday 17 December [1.45 pm]

Webinar/Zoom lecture on a subject TBC

for The Arts Society, Knole

2021

Monday 11 January [8 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Bexley Historical Society
St John Fisher RC Church Hall, Thanet Road, Bexley DA5 1AP

Thursday 14 January [2.30 pm]

The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for the National Trust, Tenterden
St Mildred’s Church Hall, Church Road, Tenterden TN30 6AT

Thursday 21 January [2 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Sidcup U3A
The New Community Church Hall, 24 Station Road, Sidcup DA15 7DU

Thursday 21 January [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Leigh Historical Society
The Small Village Hall, High Street, Leigh TN11 8RL

Friday 22 January [7.30 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Hildenborough History Society

Tuesday 26 January [8 pm]

The 1st Prize

for Hadlow Historical Society
St Mary’s Church Room, Hadlow TN11 0DJ

Friday 29 January [10.30 am]

The Second or Third Coming? Early Christianity in Britain

for the Friends of Canterbury Cathedral

Monday 1 February [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Kingston U3A
URC, Eden Street, Kingston upon Thames KT1 1HZ

Tuesday 2 February [7.30 pm]

‘Put That Light Out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2 93rd (Searchlight) Regiment, Royal Artillery

for Swanley History Group
The Alexandra Suite, St Mary’s Road, Swanley BR8 7BU

Monday 8 February [7.30 pm]

‘Here be Dragons …’ Medieval Monsters in Church Art

for Cranbrook Local History Society
The Congregational Church, High Street, Cranbrook TN17 3DN

Wednesday 10 February [2.15 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for Canterbury U3A
St Mary Bredin Chuch, 59 Nunnery Field, Canterbury CT1 3JN

Wednesday 10 February [7.30 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Sevenoaks Area National Trust Association (SANTA)
The Indoor Bowls Club, Hollybush Close, Sevenoaks TN13 3UX

Thursday 11 February [8 pm]

‘Put That Light Out!’ The 93rd (Searchlight) Regiment, Royal Artillery

for Wadhurst History Society
The Commemoration Hall, High Street, Wadhurst TN5 6LE

Monday 15 February [11 am]

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette and dining

for The Arts Society, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Trinity Theatre, Church Road, Tunbridge Wells TN1 1JB

Tuesday 16 February [2 pm]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: the Black Death and its aftermath

for The Arts Society, Eastbourne
The Village Hall, East Dean, Surrey BN20 0DJ

Friday 19 February [8 pm]

The Siren Sea: medieval mariners

for Mayfield Local History Society
The Scout Hall, Mayfield

Thursday 4 March

The Arts Society Annual Directory Meeting

Monday 8 March [10.30 am]

Albrecht Durer

for The Arts Society, Steyning
The Community Centre, Fletcher’s Croft, Steyning BN44 3XZ

Monday 8 March [2.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Henfield
The Henfield Hall, Cooper’s Way, High Street, Henfield BN5 9DE

Tuesday 9 March [2 pm]

The Master Masons

for The Arts Society, Malmesbury
The Village Hall, Tetbury Lane, Crudbury SN16 9HB

Wednesday 10 March [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Chaldon WI

Friday 12 March [7.30]

The Green Man in English Churches

for the Kent Family History Society
URC Canterbury, Watling Street, Canterbury CT1 2UA

Monday 15 March [2.15 pm]

Jan van Eyck

for The Arts Society, Wimborne & Blandford
The Allendale Centre, Hanham Road, Wimborne BH21 1AS

Tuesday 16 March [7.30 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for St Peter’s, Broadstairs
Hopeville Avenue, Broadstairs CT10 2TR

Tuesday 23 March [7.30 pm]

The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for Hythe Civic Society
Hythe Bay C of E Primary School, Cinque Ports Avenue, Hythe CT21 6HS

Thursday 25 March [11 am]

Fra Filippo Lippi

for The Arts Society, Faversham
Alexander Centre, Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8NZ

Thursday 1 April [12.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for the Sidcup Ladies
Sidcup Rugby Club, Sydney Road, Sidcup DA14 6RA

Thursday 8 April [2.15 pm]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for The Arts Society, Torbay
St Matthias’ Church, Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HW

Friday 9 – Sunday 11 April

Medieval Canterbury Weekend

Monday 12 April [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for the Cinque Ports Detecting Club
The Mermaid’s Locker, 8 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AF

Wednesday 14 April [2.30 pm]

The Vikings Are Coming!

for The Arts Society, Cobham & Oxshott
The Village Hall, Holtwood Road, Oxshott KT22 0QJ

Thursday 15 April [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Dymchurch & District Heritage Group
The Methodist Chapel, Dymchurch

Friday 16 April [10 am]

Illuminated Manuscripts, a Study Day

for Surrey U3As
Menuhin Hall, Cobham Road, Stoke d’Abernon KT11 3QQ

Thursday 22 April [11 am]

Here be Dragons: medieval monsters

for The Arts Society, Stirling & Forth Valley
Albert Haus, Dumbarton Road, Stirling FK8 2QL

Monday 26 – Friday 30 April 2021

Suffolk Churches

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 11 – Friday 14 May 2021

An Appointment with Angels: Norfolk Churches [1]

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 18 May [2.30 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Heathfield U3A
The Community Hall, Sheepsetting Lane, Heathfield TN21 0XG

Wednesday 19 May [2.30 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Goudhurst & District U3A
The Parish Hall, Balcombes Hill, Goudhurst TN17 1AT

Thursday 20 May [7.30 pm]

The Master Masons: the men who built the cathedrals

for Bridge History Society
The Village Hall, 28 High Street, Bridge CT4 5JZ

21-23 May

Grotesques, Gargoyles and Green Men, a Study Weekend

for The Villiers Park Trust

Tuesday 25 May [11 am]

The Book of Kells

for The Arts Society, Turners Hill
The Ark, Mount Lane, Turners Hill RH10 4RA

Friday 4 May [7 pm]

Subject TBC

A fund raiser for the church of St Thomas at Capel

Tuesday 8 June [11 am]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, East Grinstead
Chequer Mead Arts Centre, de la Warr Road, East Grinstead RH19 3BS

Wednesday 9 June [2.30 pm]

The Signs of the Times: How to read medieval art

for The Arts Society, Uckfield & Lewes
Uckfield Civic Centre,  TN22 1AL

Thursday 10 June [1.30 pm]

The Master Masons

for The Arts Society, Tarporley
The Community Centre, Tarporley CW6 0AY

Tuesday 15 June – Saturday 3 July

Lecturing on board the Silver Cloud for Silver Sea

Porto, La Coruña, Saint Malo, Le Havre, London, Guernsey, St Mary’s & Tresco, Scilly, Pembroke, Holy Loch, Iona, Lunga, Fort William, St Kilda, Vestmannaey Island, Surtsey, Reykjavik

Tuesday 6 July [1030 am]

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Gade Valley
The Village Hall, Potten End, Berkhampstead HP4 2NQ

Wednesday 28 July – Monday 9 August 2021

Lecturing on board the Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia

Baltic

Monday 16 – Friday 20 August 2021

Northumbria in the First Millennium

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 31 August – Friday 3 September 2021

The Age of Bede

A study tour for Martin Randall Travel
The tour will be based in Durham

Friday 10 – Tuesday 21 September 2021

Lecturing on board the Caledonian Sky for Noble Caledonia [1]

Istanbul, Bartin, Sinop, Trabzon, Batumi, Sochi, Odessa, Constanta, Nessebur, Istanbul

Tuesday 21 September – Saturday 2 October 2021

Lecturing on board the Caledonian Sky for Noble Caledonia [2]

Istanbul, Bartin, Sinop, Trabzon, Batumi, Sochi, Odessa, Constanta, Nessebur, Istanbul

Friday 8 October [11 am]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for Ashford Probus
Sandyacres Sports Pavilion, Sandyhurst Lane, Ashford TN25 4PE

Tuesday 12 – Friday 15 October 2021 [provisional dates]

An Appointment with Angels: a study tour of Norfolk churches [2]

for ACE Cultural Tours
The tour will be based in Norwich

Thursday 21 October [11 am]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Northleach
Westwoods Centre, Northleach GL54 3QJ

Tuesday 26 October [7 pm]

The Men behind the Pen: the life of the scribe in the Middle Ages

for Spithead Antiques & Fine Arts Society
Bay House School, Gomer Lane, Gosport P12 2QP

Thursday 28 October [11 am]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Oakham
Victoria Hall, Oakham LE15 6AH

Wednesday 3 November

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for The Arts Society, Evesham & Pershore
Evesham Arts Centre, Victoria Avenue, Evesham, Worcs WR11 4QH

Thursday 11 November [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Rye Castle Museum
3 East Street, Rye TN31 7JY

Wednesday 17 November [2 pm]

The Siren Sea; Medieval Mariners

for the Enfield Association of the National Trust
Holtwhites Sports & Social Club, 1 Kirkland Drive, Enfield EN2 0RN

Thursday 18 November [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Battle & District History Society
The Memorial Hall, 81 High Street, Battle TN33 0AG

Thursday 25 November [2.30 pm]

The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for The Arts Society, Tonbridge
Medway Hall, Angel Centre, Tonbridge TN9 1SF

Tuesday 7 December [11 am]

The Green Man in English Churches

for The Arts Society, Mendip
Strode Theatre, Church Street, Street, Somerset BA16 0AB

Wednesday 8 December [8 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for Beckenham & Bromley NT Centre
The Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Tuesday 14 December [2.15 pm]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Wealden
Community Hall, Sheepsetting Lane, Heathfield TN21 0XG