Diary

2019

Tuesday 8 January [10.30 am]

The Vikings are Coming!

for the Arts Society, Borders
Tait Hall, Edenside Road, Kelso, Roxburghshire TD5 7BS

Thursday 10 January [2 pm]

The Siren Sea: the life of medieval mariners

for Tenterden & District National Trust Association
St Mildred’s Church Hall, Church Road, Tenterden TN20 6AT

Monday 14 January [2.30 pm]

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette

for the Arts Society, Henfield
Henfield Hall, Coopers Way, BN5 9DB

Wednesday 16 January [7.45 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Wateringbury History Society
The Village Hall, Tonbridge Road, Wateringbury ME18 5DD

Thursday 17 January [10.30 am]

‘Put that light out!’ The searchlight girls in WW2

for U3A Beckenham
The Methodist Church, Bromley Road, Beckenham BR3 5JE

Thursday 17 January [8 pm]

Master Masons: how they built our cathedrals

for Leigh & District Historical Society
Small Village Hall, High Street, Leigh TN11 8RL

Wednesday 30 January [1.15 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Wye & District Luncheon Club
Sandyacre Sports Club, Sandyhurst Lane, Ashford TN25 4NT

Thursday 31 January [7.30 pm]

The First Prize: the Glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for The Ash Society
The Village Hall, Queen’s Road, Ash CT3 2BG

Friday 1 February [7.30 pm]

Joan of Arc

for the Tonbridge French Circle
Tonbridge Oast Theatre, London Road, Tonbridge TN10 3AN

Tuesday 5 February [7.15 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Lamorbey & Sidcup History Society
Community Hall, St Lawrence Church, Hamilton Road, Sidcup DA15 7HB

Thursday 7 Feb [1 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Sidcup Ladies Luncheon Club

Thursday 7 February [7.30 pm]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: Black Death and its aftermath

for Margate Civic Society
Walpole Bay Hotel, Fifth Avenue, Margate CT9 3JJ

Saturday 9 February [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the Master Masons

for Crayford Manor House Historical Society
Baker Trust Hall, Maxim Road, Crayford DA1 4BG

Tuesday 12 February [8 pm]

Whose God is it anyway? Islamic Art and Architecture

for East Peckham History Society
Salvation Army Hall, 50 The Freehold, East Peckham TN12 5AQ

Wednesday 13 February [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for U3A Windsor
Gardener’s Hall, 213 Leonards Road, Windsor SL4 3DR

Wednesday 13 February [7.30 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Loose History Society
The Pavilion, King George V Playing Field, Walnut Tree Lane, Loose, Maidstone ME15 9RQ

Thursday 14 February [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the Men who built the Cathedrals

for Rye Castle Museum
East Street, Rye TN31 7JY

Monday 18 February [2 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ The searchlight girls of WW2

for U3A Maidstone
Salvation Army Hall, Union Street, Maidstone ME14 1ED

Tuesday 19 February [7.30 pm]

The Politeness of Princes

for Sittingbourne HRG
Phoenix House, Central Avenue, Sittingbourne ME10 4BX

Thursday 21 February [8 pm]

The Lindisfarne Gospels

for Wingham History Society
The Village Hall, School Lane, Wingham CT3 1BD

Friday 22 February [7.30 pm]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain’: Black Death and its aftermath

for Bearsted & District History Society

Monday 25 February [2 pm]

Subject tbc

for U3A Knole
Sevenoaks Community Centre (Bat & Ball), Otford Road, Sevenoaks TN14 5DN

Tuesday 26 February [8 pm]

Illuminated Manuscripts

for Hadlow History Society
St Mary’s Upper Room, Hadlow

Saturday 2 March [10 am]

The Siren Sea

for North West Kent Family History Society
Dartford Science & Technology College, Heath Lane, Dartford DA1 2LY

Monday 4 March [10 am]

The Plague Years

A Study Morning for U3A Westerham
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue TN16 1BG

Tuesday 5 March [8 pm]

The Vikings are Coming!

for Crowborough History Society
The Community Centre, Pine Grove, Crowborough TN6 1FE

Thursday 7 March [10.45 am]

Windows into Heaven: Icons

for The Arts Society, Rudgwick
The Village Hall, Bucks Green, Rudgwick, West Sussex RH12 3JJ

Thursday 7 March [8 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for Edenbridge History Society
Edenbridge WI Hall, Station Road, Edenbridge

Tuesday 12 March [2.15 pm]

The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for The Arts Society, Wealden
The Community Hall, Sheepsetting Lane, Heathfield, East Sussex TN21 0XG

Friday 15 March [10 am]

A Study Day

for U3A Surrey
Menuhin Hall, Cobham Road, Stoke d’Abernon KT11 3QQ

Saturday 16 March [10 am]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

North West Kent Family History Society annual meeting
Venue TBC

Monday 18 March [11 am]

The Significance of the Sutton Hoo Ship Burial

for The Arts Society, Tunbridge Wells
Trinity Arts Centre, Church Road, Tunbridge Wells TN1 1JP

Monday 18 March [7.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Canterbury (evening group)
Old Sessions House, Longport, Canterbury CT4 5PX

Thursday 21 March [7.30 pm]

The Siren Sea

for Shorne History Society
The Village Hall, 16 The Street, Shorne DA1 2 3EA

Tuesday 26 March [2 pm]

‘Put that light out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for Bexley Ladies Club
URC Hall, 500 Hurst Road, Bexley DA5 3JN

Thursday 28 March

Arts Society Annual Directory Meeting

 

Friday 29 March [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Kemsing Heritage Group
St Edith’s Hall, High Street, Kemsing TN15 6NA

Tuesday 9 April [7.30 pm]

The Cathars

for Hythe Civic Society
Hythe Bay C of E Primary School, Cinque Ports Avenue, Hythe

Thursday 11 April [2.15 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for AS, Torbay
St Matthew’s Church, Peter Larkin Hall, Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HW

Friday 12 – Sunday 14 April

Kent History Weekend

at Christ Church Canterbury University

Wednesday 17 April [10.30 am]

The Lindisfarne Gospels

Glasgow Antiques and Fine Arts Society
Strathclyde Suite, Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Tuesday 23 – Tuesday 30 April

100 Year’s War

A Study Tour for The Cultural Experience, jointly with Gordon Corrigan
He does the slaughter and I do the culture

Tuesday 7 – Friday 10 May

An Appointment with Angels 1

A Study Tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

Friday 10 May [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Medieval Pilgrimage and Travel

for Great Yarmouth History and Archaeological Society
Christchurch, Deneside, Central Yarmouth

Tuesday 21 May [11.30 am]

The Siren Sea

for the Arts Society, Isle of Man
Manx Museum Theatre, Douglas

Thursday 23 May [7.30 pm]

The Siren Sea

for the Arts Society, Moor Park
Moor Park Mansion, Rickmansworth

Wednesday 29 May [7.45 pm]

The Master Masons

for the Arts Society, East Sussex
The Boundary Rooms, Sussex County Cricket Ground, Hove BN3 3AN

Tuesday 4 June [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, West Sussex
Fittlewell Village Hall, School Lane, Fittleworth RH20 1JB

Thursday 6 June [10 am]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain: Black Death and its Aftermath

for U3A Hawkhurst
The RBL Hall, High Street, Hawkhurst TN18 4AG

Wednesday 19 June [8 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Brentwood
Ingatestone Community Centre, CM4 9ED

Tuesday 2 – Friday 5 July

An Appointment with Angels 2

A Study Tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

Monday 8 July [2.45 pm]

‘Put That Light Out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2 [The 93rd Searchlight Regiment RA]

for STAGES
The Village Hall, 16 The Street, Shorne DA12 3EA

Wednesday 10 July [8 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Beckenham & Bromley NT
Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Friday 12 July, evening

Subject tbc

A fund-raiser for the Chapel of St Thomas Becket, Capel
Church Lane, Five Oak Green, Tonbridge TN12 6SX

Please come along to support this delightful church

Thursday 18 – Tuesday 30 July

The Baltic

for Noble Caledonia on MV Serenissima
Copenhagen, Christianso, Bornholm, Gdansk, Klaipeda, Riga, Parnu, Saaremaa, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Helsinki, Stockholm

Tuesday 30 July – Friday 9 August

The Baltic 2

for Noble Caledonia on MV Serenissima

Monday 12 – Friday  23 August

Recce and Research

Monday 2 – Friday 6 September

First-millennium Northumbria

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Travel

Tuesday 10 September [2.30 & 7 pm]

Fra Filippo Lippi

for AS, Edinburgh
Freemasons Hall, 96 George Street, EH2 3DH

Saturday 14 – Tuesday 17 September

The Age of Bede

A Study Tour for Martin Randall Travel

Monday 23 – Friday 27 September

A Study Tour of Dorset Churches

for Martin Randall Travel

Tuesday 8 – Monday 21 October

Across Europe by River

Lecturing on board Royal Crown for Noble Caledonia
Vienna to Amsterdam

Wednesday 30 October [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for Headcorn History Society
Methodist Church Hall, High Street, Headcorn TN27 9NL

Wednesday 6 November [11 am]

Stone on Stone: the Men who built the Cathedrals

for Wadhurst Probus
Ticehurst Village Hall, Lower High Street TN5 7BB

Thursday 7 November [10.30 am]

Bede and the times in which he lived

for U3A Beckenham
Wesley Room, Beckenham Methodist Church, Bromley Road BR3 5JE

Monday 11 November [11 am & 2 pm]

The Siren Sea

for AS, Tayside
Birnham Arts Centre, Station Road, Birnham, Dunkeld PH8 0DS

Thursday 14 November [2 pm]

The Goose is getting fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for U3A Westerham
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue, London Road, Westerham TN16 1BG

Friday 15 November [7.30 pm]

The Goose is getting fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for Elham Historical Society
The Village Hall, Canterbury Road, Elham CT4 6SX

Saturday 16 November [10 am]

A Joint Study Day for Joint U3As!

for Tenterden and District U3As
The Sinden Theatre, Homewood School, Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6LT

Monday 18 November [2.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Betchworth
The Memorial Hall, Station Road, Betchworth, Surrey RH3 7DF

Tuesday 19 November [8 pm]

The Powers behind the Throne: the women of the first millennium

for Oxted & District History Society
URC, 21 Bluehouse Lane, Oxted RH8 0AA

Thursday 21 November [2.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas Traditions

for U3A Tunbridge Wells

Thursday 21 November [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for the History Research Group Sittingbourne
The Avenue Theatre, Central Avenue, Sittingbourne ME10 4DN

Wednesday 27 November [10.30 am]

The Signs of the Times: a Day of Special Interest

for the Arts Society, West Essex
Theydon Bois Village Hall, Coppice Row CM16 7EB

Tuesday 3 December [7.15 pm]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for AS, Derby
Landau Forte College, 1 Fox Street, Derby DE1 2LF

Wednesday 11 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: A history of Christmas traditions

for Rainham Historical Society
The Millennium Centre, Gatekeeper Chase, Rainham ME8 9BH

2020

Wednesday 8 January [8 pm]

Albrecht Durer

for Westerham Fine Arts Society
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue, London Road TN16 1BG

Thursday 9 January [2.30 pm]

The Rus

for Tenterden National Trust Association
St Mildred’s Church Hall, Church Road, Tenterden

Tuesday 14 January [10.40 am]

The Siren Sea

for The Arts Society, Meon Valley
Meon Hall, Pound Lane, Meonstoke, Hants SO32 2NP

Monday 3 February [1.45 pm]

Albrecht Durer

for The Arts Society, Ross-on-Wye
The Larruperz Centre, Grammar School Close, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5TZ

 Wednesday 5 February [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for East Kent National Trust Association
Canterbury URC, Watling Street, Canterbury CT1 2UA

Wednesday 12 February [10.45 am]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Samlesbury
Samlesbury Hotel, Preston New Road, Samlebury, Lancs PR5 0UL

Thursday 13 February [7.45 pm]

The Siren Sea

for Tonbridge Historical Society
The Angel Centre, Tonbridge TN9 1SF

Thursday 20 February [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Bridge & District History Society
The Village Hall, High Street, Bridge CT4 5JZ

Monday 9 March [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, North Kent
Crofton Halls, York Rise, Orpington BR6 8PR

Wednesday 11 March [2.30 pm]

The Signs of the Times

for The Arts Society, Cobham & Oxshott
The Village Hall, Holtwood Road, Oxshott KT22 0QJ

Wednesday 8 April [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Beckenham & Bromley National Trust Centre
Bromley Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Tuesday 14 April [7 pm]

The Siren Sea

for The Arts Society, Portsea Island
University of Portsmouth, Eldon West Building, Middle Street, Portsmouth PO1 2DJ

Thursday 16 April [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Brenchley & Matfield History Society
The Village Hall, Village Green, Maidstone Road, Matfield TN12 7JY

Monday 20 April [1.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Ayrshire
The Walker Hall, South Beach Road, Troon KA10 6EF

Tuesday 21 April

Subject TBC

for The Arts Society, Dumfries & Galloway
Easterbrook Hall, The Crichton, Dumfries DG1 4TL

Wednesday 6 May [10.30 am]

The Siren Sea; Medieval Mariners

for The Arts Society, Totnes
The Barn Cinema (Dartington Hall), Totnes, TQ9 6EL

Wednesday 13 May [2.30 pm]

The Signs of the Times: How to read medieval art

for The Arts Society, Uckfield & Lewes
Uckfield Civic Centre,  TN22 1AL

19-22 May 2020

An Appointment with Angels; a Study Tour of Norfolk Churches

for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 2 June 2020 [10.45 am]

Subject TBC

for The Arts Society, West Suffolk
Blackbourne Community Centre, Elmswell IP30 9UH

13-28 July 2020

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Serenissima for Noble Caledonia
Aberdeen, Kragero, Skagen, Fredericia, Wismar, Bornholm, Christianso, Kalmar, Visby, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Kotka, Mariehamn, Stockholm

7-15 August 2020

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Stockholm, Visby, Saaremaa, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Kotka, Mariehamn, Stockholm

15 – 31 August 2020

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Stockholm, Helsinki, St Petersburg, Tallinn, Saaremaa, Riga, Klaipeda, Gdansk, Sassnitz, Lubeck, Holtenau, Kiel Canal, Scheveningen, Dover

7-11 September 2020

Northumbria in the First Millennium

A study tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 15 September

Subject TBC

for The Arts Society, Ashford

Friday 18 September

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Rolveden History Sciety
Rolveden Church

Thursday 22 October [2.30 pm]

The Topsy-Turvy World of Misericords

for The Arts Society, Blackheath
St Mary’s Church Hall, Creswell Park, Blackheath SE3 9RD

Tuesday 10 November

The Siren Sea

for The Arts Society, Salisbury
Awaiting confirmation

Monday 16 November [1.30 pm]

Medieval Mariners

for The Arts Society, Harrogate
The Cairn Hotel, Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD

Tuesday 17 November

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette and table manners

for The Arts Society, Medway
Masonic Centre, Franklin Road, Gillingham ME7 4DG

Wednesday 16 December [10.30 am]

Glad Tidings! The Story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Hungerford
Herongate Leisure Centre, Charnham Park, Hungerford RG17 0YU