Diary

2019

Tuesday 9 April [7.30 pm]

The Cathars

for Hythe Civic Society
Hythe Bay C of E Primary School, Cinque Ports Avenue, Hythe

Thursday 11 April [2.15 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for AS, Torbay
St Matthew’s Church, Peter Larkin Hall, Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HW

Friday 12 – Sunday 14 April

Kent History Weekend

at Christ Church Canterbury University

Wednesday 17 April [10.30 am]

The Lindisfarne Gospels

Glasgow Antiques and Fine Arts Society
Strathclyde Suite, Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Tuesday 23 – Tuesday 30 April

100 Year’s War

A Study Tour for The Cultural Experience, jointly with Gordon Corrigan
He does the slaughter and I do the culture

Tuesday 7 – Friday 10 May

An Appointment with Angels 1

A Study Tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

Friday 10 May [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Medieval Pilgrimage and Travel

for Great Yarmouth History and Archaeological Society
Christchurch, Deneside, Central Yarmouth

Tuesday 21 May [11.30 am]

The Siren Sea

for the Arts Society, Isle of Man
Manx Museum Theatre, Douglas

Thursday 23 May [7.30 pm]

The Siren Sea

for the Arts Society, Moor Park
Moor Park Mansion, Rickmansworth

Wednesday 29 May [7.45 pm]

The Master Masons

for the Arts Society, East Sussex
The Hove Club, 28 Fourth Avenue, Hove BN3 2PJ

Tuesday 4 June [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, West Sussex
Fittlewell Village Hall, School Lane, Fittleworth RH20 1JB

Thursday 6 June [10 am]

‘The Dregs of the People Remain: Black Death and its Aftermath

for U3A Hawkhurst
The RBL Hall, High Street, Hawkhurst TN18 4AG

Wednesday 19 June [8 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Brentwood
Ingatestone Community Centre, CM4 9ED

Tuesday 2 – Friday 5 July

An Appointment with Angels 2

A Study Tour of Norfolk Churches for ACE Cultural Tours

Monday 8 July [2.45 pm]

‘Put That Light Out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2 [The 93rd Searchlight Regiment RA]

for STAGES
The Village Hall, 16 The Street, Shorne DA12 3EA

Wednesday 10 July [8 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Beckenham & Bromley NT
Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Friday 12 July, evening

‘Put That Light Out!’ The Searchlight Girls of WW2 [The 93rd Searchlight Regiment RA]

A fund-raiser for the Chapel of St Thomas Becket, Capel
Church Lane, Five Oak Green, Tonbridge TN12 6SX

Please come along to support this delightful church

Thursday 18 – Tuesday 30 July

The Baltic

for Noble Caledonia on MV Serenissima
Copenhagen, Christianso, Bornholm, Gdansk, Klaipeda, Riga, Parnu, Saaremaa, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Helsinki, Stockholm

Tuesday 30 July – Friday 9 August

The Baltic 2

for Noble Caledonia on MV Serenissima

Monday 12 – Friday  23 August

Recce and Research

Monday 2 – Friday 6 September

First-millennium Northumbria

A Study Tour for ACE Cultural Travel

Tuesday 10 September [2.30 & 7 pm]

Fra Filippo Lippi

for AS, Edinburgh
Freemasons Hall, 96 George Street, EH2 3DH

Saturday 14 – Tuesday 17 September

The Age of Bede

A Study Tour for Martin Randall Travel

Monday 23 – Friday 27 September

A Study Tour of Dorset Churches

for Martin Randall Travel

Tuesday 1 October [2 pm]

Subject tbc

for St Andrew’s Ladies’
St Andrew’s Hall (behind the church), West Street, Deal CT14 6DT

Wednesday 2 October [7.30 pm]

The Green Man in English Churches

for Wye Historical Society
Lady Joanna Thornhill School, Bridge Street, Wye TN25 5EA

Tuesday 8 – Monday 21 October

Across Europe by River

Lecturing on board Royal Crown for Noble Caledonia
Vienna to Amsterdam

Tuesday 29 October

Albrecht Durer

for The Art Fund
Danny House, New Way Lane, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9BB

Wednesday 30 October [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: Pilgrimage and Travel in the Middle Ages

for Headcorn History Society
Methodist Church Hall, High Street, Headcorn TN27 9NL

Wednesday 6 November [11 am]

Stone on Stone: the Men who built the Cathedrals

for Wadhurst Probus
Ticehurst Village Hall, Lower High Street TN5 7BB

Thursday 7 November [10.30 am]

Bede and the times in which he lived

for U3A Beckenham
Wesley Room, Beckenham Methodist Church, Bromley Road BR3 5JE

Monday 11 November [11 am & 2 pm]

The Siren Sea

for AS, Tayside
Birnham Arts Centre, Station Road, Birnham, Dunkeld PH8 0DS

Thursday 14 November [2 pm]

The Goose is getting fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for U3A Westerham
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue, London Road, Westerham TN16 1BG

Friday 15 November [7.30 pm]

The Goose is getting fat: a history of Christmas traditions

for Elham Historical Society
The Village Hall, Canterbury Road, Elham CT4 6SX

Saturday 16 November [10 am]

A Joint Study Day for Joint U3As  with Dr Judith Shaw

for Tenterden and District U3As
The Sinden Theatre, Homewood School, Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6LT

Monday 18 November [2.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Betchworth
The Memorial Hall, Station Road, Betchworth, Surrey RH3 7DF

Tuesday 19 November [8 pm]

The Powers behind the Throne: the women of the first millennium

for Oxted & District History Society
URC, 21 Bluehouse Lane, Oxted RH8 0AA

Thursday 21 November [2.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas Traditions

for U3A Tunbridge Wells

Thursday 21 November [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for the History Research Group Sittingbourne
The Avenue Theatre, Central Avenue, Sittingbourne ME10 4DN

Wednesday 27 November [10.30 am]

The Signs of the Times: a Day of Special Interest

for the Arts Society, West Essex
Theydon Bois Village Hall, Coppice Row CM16 7EB

Tuesday 3 December [7.15 pm]

Glad Tidings: the story of the Annunciation

for AS, Derby
Landau Forte College, 1 Fox Street, Derby DE1 2LF

Thursday 5 December [7 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: A history of Christmas traditions

for Bridge Cottage Heritage
Bridge Cottage, High Street, Uckfield TN22 1AZ

Wednesday 11 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: A history of Christmas traditions

for Rainham Historical Society
The Millennium Centre, Gatekeeper Chase, Rainham ME8 9BH

2020

Wednesday 8 January [8 pm]

Albrecht Durer

for Westerham Fine Arts Society
Westerham Hall, Quebec Avenue, London Road TN16 1BG

Thursday 9 January [2.30 pm]

The Rus

for Tenterden National Trust Association
St Mildred’s Church Hall, Church Road, Tenterden

Tuesday 14 January [10.40 am]

The Siren Sea

for The Arts Society, Meon Valley
Meon Hall, Pound Lane, Meonstoke, Hants SO32 2NP

Monday 3 February [1.45 pm]

Albrecht Durer

for The Arts Society, Ross-on-Wye
The Larruperz Centre, Grammar School Close, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5TZ

Wednesday 5 February [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for East Kent National Trust Association
Canterbury URC, Watling Street, Canterbury CT1 2UA

Thursday 6 February [10.30 am]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for the Friends of Canterbury Cathedral

Monday 10 February [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Brenzett WI

Wednesday 12 February [10.45 am]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Samlesbury
Samlesbury Hotel, Preston New Road, Samlebury, Lancs PR5 0UL

Thursday 13 February [7.45 pm]

The Siren Sea

for Tonbridge Historical Society
The Angel Centre, Tonbridge TN9 1SF

Monday 17 February [10.45 am]

The Ship Burial at Sutton Hoo

for The Arts Society, Milford-on-Sea
All Saints Church Hall, Greenbanks Close, Milford-on-Sea SO41 0SQ

Wednesday 19 February [7.30 pm]

Michael Sittow: Tallinn’s Hidden Talent

for The Arts Society, Windsor Evening Group
Memorial Hall, Straight Road, Old Windsor SL4 2RN

Thursday 20 February [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Bridge & District History Society
The Village Hall, High Street, Bridge CT4 5JZ

Tuesday 25 February [7 pm]

El Greco

for Spithead Antiques & Fine Arts Society
Bay House School, Gomer Lane, Gosport P12 2QP

Thursday 27 February [8 pm]

Here be Dragons … Medieval Monsters

for the National Trust, Orpington
The Methodist Church, 19 Sevenoaks Road, Orpington BR6 9JH

Sunday 1 March [2 pm]

Subject TBC

for New Ash Green Arts Society (NAGArts)
The Youth Centre, North Square, Longfield DA3 8JY

Wednesday 4 March [10.30 am]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for the Arts Society, Chipstead
The Community Hal, Park Road, Banstead, Surrey SM7 3AJ

Friday 6 March [8 pm]

The 1st Prize: the glories of Anglo-Saxon England

for Wrotham History Society
The Village Hall, High Street, Wrotham TN15 7AA

Monday 9 March [2 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, North Kent
Crofton Halls, York Rise, Orpington BR6 8PR

Monday 9 March [7.30 pm]

A Child’s Life in the Middle Ages

for Barming History Society
The Village Hall, 54 Heath Road, Barming ME16 9JU

Tuesday 10 March [7 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Hythe Civic Society
Hythe Bay C of E Primary School, Cinque Ports Avenue, Hythe CT21 6HS

Wednesday 11 March [2.30 pm]

The Signs of the Times

for The Arts Society, Cobham & Oxshott
The Village Hall, Holtwood Road, Oxshott KT22 0QJ

Thursday 12 March [7.30 pm]

The Siren Sea; Medieval Mariners

for Rye Castle Museum
3 East Street, Rye TN31 7JY

Monday 16 March [2 pm]

‘Put that light out!’: The Searchlight Girls of WW2

for Rye U3A
The Community Centre, Conduit Hill, Rye TN31 4LE

Wednesday 18 March [7.30 pm]

The Topsy-Turvy World of Misericords

for Kent Family History Society (Thanet)
The Village Centre, Alpha Road, Birchington CT7 9EG

Thursday 19 March [7.30 pm]

Stone on Stone: the men who built the cathedrals

for Smarden History Society
Charter Hall, Chessenden Lane, Smarden TN27 8NF

Wednesday 8 April [2.30 pm]

The Powers behind the Thrones: the women of the first millennium

for Winchelsea 2nd Wednesday Club
New Hall, Rectory Lane, Winchelsea TN36 4AA

Wednesday 8 April [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Beckenham & Bromley National Trust Centre
Bromley Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley BR1 2UH

Tuesday 14 April [7 pm]

The Siren Sea

for The Arts Society, Portsea Island
University of Portsmouth, Eldon West Building, Middle Street, Portsmouth PO1 2DJ

Thursday 16 April [8 pm]

Subject TBC

for Brenchley & Matfield History Society
The Village Hall, Village Green, Maidstone Road, Matfield TN12 7JY

Monday 20 April [1.30 pm]

The Bayeux Tapestry

for The Arts Society, Ayrshire
The Walker Hall, South Beach Road, Troon KA10 6EF

Tuesday 21 April

Subject TBC

for The Arts Society, Dumfries & Galloway
Easterbrook Hall, The Crichton, Dumfries DG1 4TL

Monday 27 April [7.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for Tenterden & District History Society
Zion Baptist Church, High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BB

Tuesday 5 May [11 am]

The Green Man in English Churches

for The Arts Society, Mendip
Strode Theatre, Church Street, Street, Somerset BA16 0AB

Wednesday 6 May [10.30 am]

The Siren Sea; Medieval Mariners

for The Arts Society, Totnes
The Barn Cinema (Dartington Hall), Totnes, TQ9 6EL

Wednesday 13 May [2.30 pm]

The Signs of the Times: How to read medieval art

for The Arts Society, Uckfield & Lewes
Uckfield Civic Centre,  TN22 1AL

19-22 May 2020

An Appointment with Angels; a Study Tour of Norfolk Churches

for ACE Cultural Tours

A second tour will be run from 22-25 September

Tuesday 2 June 2020 [10.45 am]

Subject TBC

for The Arts Society, West Suffolk
Blackbourne Community Centre, Elmswell IP30 9UH

13-28 July 2020

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Serenissima for Noble Caledonia
Aberdeen, Kragero, Skagen, Fredericia, Wismar, Bornholm, Christianso, Kalmar, Visby, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Kotka, Mariehamn, Stockholm

7-15 August 2020

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Stockholm, Visby, Saaremaa, Tallinn, St Petersburg, Kotka, Mariehamn, Stockholm

15 – 31 August 2020

The Baltic

Lecturing on board MS Hebridean Sky for Noble Caledonia
Stockholm, Helsinki, St Petersburg, Tallinn, Saaremaa, Riga, Klaipeda, Gdansk, Sassnitz, Lubeck, Holtenau, Kiel Canal, Scheveningen, Dover

Thursday 3 September [10.30 am]

Subject TBC

for U3A Beckenham
The Methodist Church (Wesley Room), Bromley Road, Beckenham BR3 5JE

7-11 September 2020

Northumbria in the First Millennium

A study tour for ACE Cultural Tours

Tuesday 15 September

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for The Arts Society, Ashford
The Village Hall, Aldington, Ashford TN25 7DT

Wednesday 16 September [2.30 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey

for Wadhurst U3A
The Commemoration Hall, Wadhurst, East Sussex TN5 6AP

Thursday 17 September [2 pm]

The Politeness of Princes: medieval etiquette and table manners

for MEPARA
The Village Hall, Wrotham Road, Meopham DA13 0AT

Thursday 17 September [8 pm]

The Hazards of the Journey: pilgrimage and travel in the Middle Ages

for Wingham History Society
The Village Hall, School Lane, Wingham CT3 1BD

Friday 18 September

The Bayeux Tapestry

for Rolveden History Society
Rolveden Church

Tuesday 22 – Friday 25 September

An Appointment with Angels; a Study Tour of Norfolk Churches [2]

for ACE Cultural Tours

A repeat of the May 2020 tour

Tuesday 13 October [7.30 pm]

The Vikings are Coming!

for The Arts Society, Hexham
Function Suite, Tynedale Mart, Hexham NE46 3SG

Thursday 22 October [2.30 pm]

The Topsy-Turvy World of Misericords

for The Arts Society, Blackheath
St Mary’s Church Hall, Creswell Park, Blackheath SE3 9RD

Thursday 5 November [6.45 pm]

Black Death and its Aftermath

for The Arts Society, Dorset County
The Corn Exchange, High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1AF

Wednesday 11 November [2 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat: a history of Christmas Traditions

for Aperfield WI
Aperfield WI Hall, Lebanon Gardens, Biggin Hill TM16 3HA

Thursday 12 November [7.30 pm]

Subject TBC

for Sandwich History Society
The Grand Jury Room in the Guildhall, Sandwich

Monday 16 November [1.30 pm]

Medieval Mariners

for The Arts Society, Harrogate
The Cairn Hotel, Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD

Tuesday 17 November

The Politeness of Princes: the reality of medieval etiquette and table manners

for The Arts Society, Medway
Masonic Centre, Franklin Road, Gillingham ME7 4DG

Tuesday 8 December [2.30 pm]

Glad Tidings! The Story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Brecknock
Theatr Brycheiniog, Brecon LD3 7EW

Thursday 10 December [7.30 pm]

The Goose is Getting Fat! A history of Christmas traditions

for Margate Civic Society
Walpole Bay Hotel, Fifth Avenue, Cliftonville CT9 2JJ

Wednesday 16 December [10.30 am]

Glad Tidings! The Story of the Annunciation

for The Arts Society, Hungerford
Herongate Leisure Centre, Charnham Park, Hungerford RG17 0YU